top of page
Search

How to finesse looking expensive AF

Updated: Mar 19, 2020


Rocking the LV look! Photo by: Lola Christina Alao

Amid the angry tweets Kim K was posting about fast fashion companies copying her designer dresses, I decided to give you guys tips on how you can rock the designer look for less £££.


For as long as I can remember, high street/fast fashion brands have been providing us non-millionaire fashionistas with the ability to look expensive without spending the price tag to match. Not to mention, FashionNova had Kim K's Thierry Mugler dress in the works right away. I mean, in my opinion, how most designers measure their success with a unique piece is if it is in high street stores right after fashion week, and every working class individual is seen rocking it. The designer knows it was them that caused that trend, hence what makes them famous. It's their hard work paying off.


I'd love to be rich enough to have custom designs made for me like Kim, but I wouldn't be so offended if it made it to the high street. I'd feel honoured to have played a part in starting that trend.


Tip #1:


My favourite sites for rocking the designer look for less are definitely Missguided and PrettyLittleThing. From Balenciaga look-a-like chunky trainers, LV prints, Gucci Marmont bags, they have it all! The quality is very impressive also, and more than half the price of the originals.


My second tip is: Jewellery and BAGS.


These are my two secret weapons. Jewellery instantly makes your outfit look more put together and expensive - especially gold. Simple as some gold hoops, pearl studs, just to name a few! My favourite place for expensive looking earrings is Lovisa.


Bags such as the ones I mentioned above, paired with a simple classic outfit instantly ups your boujee game. See some here: Chloé, Gucci, My LV print bag


Third tip:


Fabrics such as Satin, faux leather and velvet. These three honestly don't to have a heavy price tag to look designer. You could literally get a satin shirt from PLT for less than £30 and, styled correctly, will have you looking a million bucks. For example, a satin shirt with leather trousers, some strappy heels paired with an LV print bag has you looking like you've come straight out of a Vogue fashion shoot. Outfit: Top, trousers, heels, bag



bottom of page